Stearns County League

Recap for the 06/30/2017 All-Star Game

Preview Recap


The Stearns County League topped the County Line League 12-3 in the annual All-Star game at Elrosa Friday night.The County Line had leads of 1-0 and 3-2 with all runs being driven in by two no-doubt-about-it home runs from New London Spicer’s (NLS) Mike Danielson. Also getting hits for the CLL were Josh Cunningham, Atwater; Scott Rambow, NLS; Jordan Olsen, Atwater; Justin Johnson, Norway  Lake-Sunburg; and Austin Kampsen, Regal. Jordan Beier, Regal, scored the other run. The SCL, which had a two-run first inning home run from St. Martin’s Taylor Holthaus (2-3 2 2r 4bi t hr), batted through the order in three straight innings as it built to its 12-3 lead. Dusty Adams, Richmond, (3-3) led all hitters and had two rbi. Also hitting for the SCL were Kyle Lieser, St. Martin (1-2 2r); Jamie Terres, Spring Hill (2-3 24 bi d); Cody Eichers (2-2 3r bi bb); Matt Quade, Lake Henry (1-3 2r); Andrew Welle, Meire Grove (1-3 r sb).  The SCL pitchers gave up  nine hits.  Danielson hit his home runs off of starter Ethan Vogt, Elrosa (2i 2h r er) and winning pitcher Jim Thull, New Munich (I 2h 2r 2er k). Other than that the SCL was able to shut down the CLL. Aaron Vogt, Elrosa, finished the game pitching the final two innings striking out four batter.


Home Run Contest

The home run contest prior to the game was won by Michael Danielson of New London-Spicer who hit earned 40 points in the championship round.  In the preliminary round Taylor Holthaus of St. Martin earned 62 points.  Also reaching the final round were Cody Meyer, Meire Grove; and Matt Quade, Lake Henry.


Championship Round

Player-Team   Pts

Micheal Danielson-NLS  40

Taylor Holthaus-St. Martin  33

Colton Meyer-Meire Grove  7

Matt Quade-Lake Henry  6

Preliminary Rounds

Player-Team   Pts

Taylor Holthaus-St. Martin  62

Micheal Danielson-NLS  36

Colton Meyer-Meire Grove  26

Matt Quade-Lake Henry  22

Jamie Terres-Spring Hill  20

Ryan Kraemer-Greenwald  19

Will Funk-New Munich  18

Brad Hopp-Atwater  14

Cody Eicher-Elrosa  12

Scott Rambow-NLS  12

Trent Gertken-Roscoe  12

Jordan Olsen-Atwater  11

Nathan Meyer-Regal  10

Justin Schroeder-Atwater  8

Kyle Zierden-Farming  8

Dan Hansen-Richmond  5


(Mid Minnesota Amateur Baseball Blog)